The Hall or as it was formerly known
the Hill, has magnificent views over Freshford. The present building owes much
to the influence of the Bythesea family who lived there for over 100 years. They
were originally wealthy Clothiers whose family seat was Wyke House, near Trowbridge.
Samuel Byethesea purchased the estate and converted the house into a suitable
country residence. He lived here until he died aged 80 in 1830,
There are a number of memorials and Stained Glass windows both to him and his
family in St. Peters Church. On his death the property passed to his nephew Samuel
Francis Glossop Bythesea who in turn lived here until 1904. It was his father,
George who paid £3,500 for the Patronage of the Church in 1818. He was to
remain Vicar of the church for 20 years. The most famous parson associated with"
The Hall" is George`s son - John who in 1854 was awarded a Victoria Cross
during the Crimean War (click on web site link: John Bythesea V.C. Web Site).
Another interesting gentleman who lived there more recently was Lloyd George`s
Grandson , the 3rd Earl Lloyd George. Click on images in left frame to see more
about this fascinating house.